Commission Elects New Officers

DETROIT, MI, JANUARY 10, 2017- The Judicial Tenure Commission, at its meeting on January 9, elected new officers.  The officers serve a two-year term.

Hon. Pablo Cortes, 62A District Court Judge from Wyoming, has been elected Chair of the Commission.  Judge Cortes represents the District and Municipal Judges across the state and has been serving on the Commission since January 2011.

Nancy J. Diehl, Esq., has been elected as the Commission's Vice-Chairperson.  Ms Diehl was elected to serve on the Commission by the State Bar of Michigan membership, is retired from the Wayne County Prosecuting Attorney's Office and is a past President of the State Bar.  She has served on the Commission since January 2006.

Hon. Monte J. Burmeister has been elected to serve as the Commission's Secretary.  He represents the state's Probate Judges on the Commission, and has been a member since January 2013.  Judge Burmeister is the Probate Judge for Crawford County.